Tuesday, December 19, 2017 - 5:56 PM by Chris Pike

WEST Perth will unveil its brand new club rooms at the redeveloped HBF Arena to open the 2018 McDonald's WAFL season in Round 1 next year on Saturday March 31.

The WAFL season will open two weeks later than usual and West Perth will get the chance to play first up at the redeveloped HBF Arena against Claremont in Round 1.

From there the Falcons take on East Perth at Leederville Oval before another home game against South Fremantle in Round 3 at HBF Arena.

Following a three-week run on the road to Swan Districts, Perth and Subiaco leading into the state game which pits the WAFL against the SANFL, West Perth returns home in Round 7 to host East Fremantle and then East Perth in the WA Day Derby on Monday June 4.

Then after playing Peel and Claremont on the road, it's two home games in Rounds 12 and 13 for West Perth against Perth and Subiaco. Then following a trip to East Fremantle Oval, it's more games at HBF Arena for the Falcons against Swan Districts and Peel Thunder.

The season finishes with a clash with South Fremantle at Fremantle Community Bank Oval, at home to Subiaco in Round 19 and then at Leederville Oval against East Perth before the Round 21 bye.

West Perth plays East Perth and Subiaco three times in 2018 and Claremont, East Fremantle, Peel, Perth, South Fremantle and Swan Districts twice each.

A shorter season will commence two weeks later than 2017, with Round 1 to kick off on Good Friday, March 30. The Grand Final will still be played the weekend prior to the AFL Grand Final in September.

WAFC CEO Gavin Taylor said that the shorter season of 18 games across 21 rounds had allowed for a more even fixture that would still retain important historical clashes.

"By reducing the length of the season by two rounds we have been able to achieve a more even fixture whilst still ensuring we have traditional feature games such as the Fremantle derby on WA Day," Taylor said.

"All clubs will play each other twice and their other two games will be against teams that finished in the same third of the ladder last season or for a traditional feature game.

"We have also been able to schedule the vast majority of games on Saturday, with 14 of 21 rounds featuring all four games in the traditional Saturday afternoon timeslot in response to feedback from clubs and fans.

"The opening round on Easter weekend will also include a West Perth home game to open the club’s new facility at HBF Arena in Joondalup, which will be a fantastic occasion for the club, their supporters and the local community.

"I’m already looking forward to the season getting under way and thank the WAFL clubs and everyone else involved with the fixturing process.

"I’d also like to thank the Seven Network for their ongoing commitment to broadcast WAFL games and look forward to finalising broadcast details early in the new year."

Each club will have three byes during the season.

All game times and broadcast details will be confirmed early in 2018.

Round 1 – Saturday March 31
Claremont at HBF Arena

Round 2 – Saturday April 7
East Perth at Leederville Oval

Round 3 – Sunday April 15
South Fremantle at HBF Arena

Round 4 – Saturday April 21
Swan Districts at Steel Blue Oval

Round 5 – Saturday April 28
Perth at Lathlain Park

Round 6 – Saturday May 5
Swan Districts at Fremantle Community Bank Oval

Round 7 – Saturday May 19
East Fremantle at HBF Arena

Round 8 – Bye

Round 9 – Monday June 4 (WA Day)
East Perth at HBF Arena

Round 10 – Saturday June 9
Peel Thunder at Bendigo Bank Stadium

Round 11 – Saturday June 16
Claremont at Claremont Oval

Round 12 – Saturday June 23
Perth at HBF Arena

Round 13 – Saturday June 30
Subiaco at HBF Arena

Round 14 – Saturday July 7
East Fremantle at East Fremantle Oval

Round 15 – Bye

Round 16 – Saturday July 21
Swan Districts at HBF Arena

Round 17 – Saturday July 28
Peel Thunder at HBF Arena

Round 18 – Saturday August 4
South Fremantle at Fremantle Community Bank Oval

Round 19 – Saturday August 11
Subiaco at HBF Arena

Round 20 – Saturday August 18
East Perth at Leederville Oval

Round 21 – Bye